Ending Infinity

There was a place not too long in the past

Where all our goodbyes, I know I was still counting

But now that we are here, long past the last

I look back but cannot seem to place the ending

.

It seems I can’t even speak of the end

Without taking a trip back to the beginning

Like I can’t even begin to pretend

To separate all of the sin from the sinning

.

Maybe it’s just all the blood on my hands

Ledger Red that I cannot seem to leave behind

In shades of the memories I can’t stand

Like a tune that will not stop playing in my mind

.

Perhaps you truly were looking for peace

Even if you had a strange way of showing it

With all your threats to bring me to my knees

And always on the verge of throwing it

.

It used to make me want to laugh, you know

How your blade in my throat was your idea of peace

But before I was caught in that undertow

For far longer, it only made me want to weep

.

How did we even get here, I wonder

We, who used to hold each other so carefully

How could we tear each other asunder?

How did we even reach that place of no mercy?

.

Maybe you did just want bloodless and kind

Maybe I was the one turning battles to wars

For the blood on my hands may be more mine

But I wish none of it at all had to be yours

.

There was a place, not long ago, I know

Where I was still counting all our goodbyes

But nothing of it remains any more

Nothing true, but not even any of our lies.

.

Begun: December 2016

Finished: April 2022

Edited: August 2023

Leave a comment