Spellbound: A Tale of Wind and Fire

Freedom is exhausting

sighed the flame to the warm winter breeze

Please, scoffed the wispy wind

Like you know what it’s like to be free!

Of course I do, said the incensed flame

Boy, you don’t have a clue

and in a puff of indignation

Once shimmered, then withdrew.

It’s not that I don’t trust you,

said the Wind after a long pause

It’s just that you’re my sister,

and you tend to love things with claws

So what if I do, snarled the flame

accidentally setting things on fire

I thought freedom was all about

doing whatever your heart desires!

Stop that, said the wind, alarmed,

puffing after scattered embers

Burn the whole place down if you like

but even the Earth remembers!

You say now that you like it here,

but don’t notice your voice is fading

and every vow there was ever to keep

you’ve already thought of betraying!

So, tell me that you need to stay

and I won’t force you to leave..

but don’t tell me it makes you glad

It’s too much for me to believe!

The flame sputtered, then began to fade

as the wind floated on gently down

I didn’t mean to make you sad

I’m just tired of watching you drown.

.

Don’t you see how deep I’ve fallen

quietly said the spirit of fire

and all I can do is burn and burn

to the end of my heart’s desire

There’s always a way, said the windy faye

if you’d just stop burning to see

The World is wide, and we are young

And you were born to burn free!

But then something dark and twisted

crawled slowly within the hill,

the fiery faye crouched to the ground

and bade the wind to be still

I need some time, fiercely hissed the flame

This is just something I must do

There are things that need to be sorted out

And secrets I cannot even tell you

Abandon your quest, sister dear

vehemently whispered the wiser wind

As the flame circled the darkness below

and then looked up one last time to grin

No! cried out the willful wind

as the night came between the friends

And the flame’s parting words

echoed like some lost sentence

The lies are lies, and the truth is truth

Sister, there is no choice to make

I willingly gave all that I did

and what’s left is mine to take

And the wind, she howled, in a voice so fine

that even the Earth did shake

for what’s born of fire cannot be undone

but even the strongest spell can break.

Leave a Reply

