For All the Reasons in the World

They told me this was the wrong direction
that I was headed in.
They shouted out in commemoration,
but whispered persistently of sin.
They said that if I turned around,
maybe my soul could still be saved
With promises of jeweled coffins,
they tried to lead me to my grave.

But, I’ve always been a conscientious objector,
if such a thing there ever was
And what’s more important than all their rules
is your own code of laws.
So, when they sent their men to help me
dismount from my trusted steed,
I spun and spurned it forward
paying their surprised cries no heed.

And, now I’ve been riding North for days,
without a map or a clue
Taking the shortest route I can find
to get the furthest away from you.
The moon is my only companion,
though she brings out the wolves at night
Yet, somehow I feel safer around them
than I ever did in day-light.

There are things I should have told you,
and things that should never have been said
But, in the silence of the dark,
they battle endlessly in my head
Still, if you were to ever need me, darling
If you cannot think of any other possible way
Look for me by the moonlight
I’ll come to thee by moonlight, though hell should bar the way..

Leave a Reply

