Christmas Wishes

Winter afternoons,
with ice cream and caffeine
and hushed talks of Dragons
once it’s dark, cold and pretty.
Laughter that’s real,
the strength to protect what is mine;
A fire at the center of my being,
and all the sea-shells we can find.

I want horses in fields
Green meadows and trees
Honor and Swords
Legends and Odes.
I need somewhere to return to,
so I may say that I am free.
I don’t need my words to be believed
so long as you believe in me.

Lazy kisses under muted lamps
Songs, and games, and drinks and dance
A second look, at first glance
A fire that would put to shame, romance
An intimidating pose, a defiant stance
Trembling knees, and steady hands
A storm that leaves you in a trance
The prettiest memory won’t stand a chance.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Wishes

  1. Mave says:

    AAh, I love this one.

    “I need somewhere to return to,
    so I may say that I am free”

Leave a Reply

