The Sea

When we all set out to sea
we had no idea how things could be
We can have ideas and make estimations
hire the best weathermen
to make the most accurate calculations
But, in the end, it isn’t you and me
it’s between you and the sea,
it’s the sea and me.

And things have been bad,
but they could be worse.
Things are often good,
But we could be cursed.
Ships are safe in harbor
but that’s not what ships are for
Life’s an endless sea
And it neither hates, nor adores.
But it’ll take you up before it crashes you down
Hold on to the wreckage, and you may not drown.

When I first set out to sea
All I ever had was me.
And for better or worse,
what I came to find was
that’s not how it has to be.
And for every misadventure,
a glorious sunset waits to be seen
And for the people you are yet to be
There’s all the people that you’ve been.

Yes, the sea has not the kindest tone,
but it takes care of its own.
The sea is full of you and me,
but it keeps us all alone.
Yet, in the light of the shining moon,
it carries your words to me
Pray tell what step of mine I should watch,
Love, when I’m drowning out here at sea?

Leave a Reply

