PT. Act II, Scene 2: Do What Thou Wilt

Philosophical Torment: Act II, Scene 2

 

Sartre talks about how all context of human happiness and pride is relative.

Well, more than Sartre, I suppose this phase really had a lot more to do with my good friend, Mave, who has philosophy classes as part of her course.

So, we were talking about how all the feelings we translate, or understand, as happiness, sorrow, betrayal, etc. are all colored heavily through the lens of social conceptions and constructs, i.e., you may own a Ferrari, and be happy about it, but you could be just as happy in any other car if it wasn’t for what a Ferrari connotates. Or, for instance, suppose you are very good friends with Person A, and then A moves away to another city. The feeling of sorrow you feel is a lot because you have learnt, and know, that when someone goes away, you will miss them. Otherwise, you wouldn’t think about it in conceptual forms as much as you would contextually.

Anyway, so, after a long and winded conversation, we reached an impasse where Mave was saying that nothing matters, because in the end, nothing will or does, and I was trying to rationalize that in terms of the purpose of any existing thing, let alone human life.

Are we all purposeless? Is it all pointless? Does it matter? Does anything? Does Nothing?

Apparently, Nothing Matters, which frees you up at a very basic and individual level, I suppose. It doesn’t matter who you anger, or who you hurt, or who you never speak to again. It doesn’t matter where you came from, or where you chose to go, or where you were exiled from. It doesn’t matter what rules you have to break. 

So, I CAN choose to spend the rest of my life locked in a room if that is what I want to do. I can party every night until I die (sigh. sounds dreary as hell). I can kill someone, if I think I have to. I can do absolutely anything I want, because in the end, if nothing matters, then all that matters is what you can see, feel and experience.

So, that makes sense, I guess. But, the above-mentioned impasse was actually this inherent problem with this theory that just wouldn’t quit bothering me: It equates the happiness you derive out of the quest and acquisition of power to that obtained from, say, the setting up of institutions to support the needy.

Mave said that it doesn’t say that you shouldn’t bother trying to change anything for the better, only that your motivations should be intensely personal. I assume in the sense that it makes you happy. But, I’m not sure if I’ve really wrapped my head around that.

Bottom-line being, in a billion years, we are all going to die, wherein we refers to the entire human race. If not a billion, then, whenever. On the pages of the history of time, humanity is a speck of dust. A self-absorbed, obnoxious speck. What is it all for? What are you creating, recording, recreating for?

The only thing that makes sense, is to understand.

The only other thing that makes sense is to not waste a single moment of our singular and precious existence. We have got to spend it all experiencing everything we can. We must! Whether we are rewarded with paradise, or are reborn in other avatars or return to atomic dust, this life is the one life you have. Everybody gets only one.

You get only one. 

Do what thou wilt.

Leave a Reply

