Coat of Red

You
stay set
in your steady ways.
Don’t
look away,
but can’t hold my gaze.
You string
those pretty words
like I were the fool
But, darling,
both you and I
know the tragic truth.

All that glitters, babe
it isn’t always gold
Yes, the World shall surely burn
but, until then, all is cold
And, you may have the answers
but the questions aren’t the same
Yes, things are different now
But, everything has to change.

I
may stumble
in both sun and shade
I
may mistake
a handshake for a blade,
but, I
meant every word
that I have ever said
In your city
of grey,
I am your Coat of Red.

And, fools stay fools,
while mighty kingdoms rise and fall
Still, in the shadows of the moon
My echoes will never cease to call
And, everything is permitted,
for Nothing is really true
You may raise all your weapons;
I don’t want to hurt you.

3 thoughts on “Coat of Red

  1. Mave says:

    I live the line
    “In your city
    of grey,
    I am your Coat of Red.”

    It’s the most perfect line ever. Ever. ❤

  2. Mave says:

    I love the line
    “In your city
    of grey,
    I am your Coat of Red.”

    It’s the most perfect line ever. Ever. ❤

  3. Aww. Thank you, Mave-chan! ❤ Maybe it isn't a good thing, though. Maybe gray is okay, and red just attracts trouble… sigh.

    But, a Coat would still keep you warm.

Leave a Reply

