Fucked up Love

The only way you would love me
Till the very end of days
Is if I were to die for you
So you could never be betrayed

There is no promise to stay here
God knows, us, it would kill
And for every thought that dares dream
There’s another dead bird on my window sill

The Guilt won’t go, the guilt won’t end
Not until all has been turned to dust
But, I fear, instead of destroying it
I’d just be leaving you to rust

And if the guilt was yours, and I was gone
I would never know a trace
Of the peace I would like to die for
Only yet found in your embrace

And, sometimes, I fear, It would not be enough
Just for me to leave
For maybe the answer lies instead in holding you close
And forcing us to believe

But the dead birds cry on my window sill
even as we offer them no reprieve
And the guilt is mine, the guilt is mine
I would not dare to grieve

For thoughts and dreams have no place
In inevitable reality
Like, you, and I, have no place
In dreams of what we could be

For life will twist, and life will change
And promises would kill us dead
While all the birds, on my window sill
Die, right after begging for bread.

The only way you would love me
Till the very end of days
Is if I were to die for you
So I could spare you the disgrace

The ache of knowing what was destroyed
And exactly what it is that now lies dead
No! The guilt is mine, and mine alone
Love, you just rest your weary head…

Leave a Reply

